Mack e6 oil burning

Willpro

Hello guys, I have a freshly rebuilt e6 that I put in a b61. Motor was rebuilt from head to toe. New heads, pistons, can and crank bearing, rebuilt turbo and compressor. I am having trouble with it throwing oil through the exhaust manifold. Looks like it is coming from every cylinder. Tried running without the turbo and still does it. Smokes blue and burns the eyes. Have talked to countless people and no one has a clue. Motor has 5 minutes of run time. The guys that rebuilt it say it needs to be broken in but to scared to drive it. Has no smoke out vent tube. Was timed by mack was wondering if that could do it becaue I am out of ideas. Any help would be great thanks

Hi. I'm no mack expert, but have learnt a few things from others bad experiences. I once had a mate who had a L10 cummins, it's appeared to have oil coming from the turbo. Cut a long story short, it was bad injectors and was fuel coming out the turbo mixed with soot from exhaust.

Maybe from that experience, it might get a few light bulbs going in someone's heads. Best of luck with it.

Are you getting blue smoke? If not, then check for worn/misfit valve guides, no "slobber" shields, or unburned fuel (injectors). If you are blowing blue smoke, likely oil and/or compression rings installed incorrectly. Just thought of another thing...was the engine "broke in" to seat the rings? Did you install new liners or rehone the old ones?

• Like 1

Ken

PRR Country and Charter member of the "Mack Pack"

I ran into that problem when I rebuilt my E9. Drove me crazy. Finally took it to a mack deal, turns out I "over torqued" the fuel lines and it crimped the ends. Smoked like crazy. New fuel lines, end of problem. Easy to check.

Live every day like it's your last, because one of these days, it will be.