Cheaper Clutches rather than Dealer Price?

Keffer inc

Hello, I have a 1994 Mack CH613 with the E7-350 motor and 9 speed Mack transmission. I got a quote from Tidewater Mack Inc (Chesapeake, VA) and the part number for the clutch I need is "MK 2104-20892551" and costs $890.00; according to what the computer says from plugging in my VIN number. I don't think that is really over-priced being new and all, but I'm not running my own buisness yet, so while I'm a company driver supporting a family, $900 is huge for us. I was hoping someone might know of a cheaper source (new or rebuilt, either is fine for just getting on the road). TIA

Edited by Keffer inc

i have a 99 613 with a 460 and mack 13 converted to the 18 speed it has been my experiance after replaceing my clutch for the second time at aproxamatly 387 days after the first clutch to BUY WHAT MACK RECOMENDS my first aftermarket clutch was $900 the one i purchased from mack was $1180 and i had to drive 6 hours one way to get the clutch i wanted at price the closer ones wanted $1400

I think that's kinda high but then again, I rarely get into the pricing side at work. Judging from the monthly sales flyer from the dealership I work at, the clutches range from $350-750 for reman and new Eaton clutches. For example, a reman 15.5 easy pedal clutch w/exchange is $463.Rarely do we install new clutches unless requested by the customer.

2104-20892551 should be a new clutch. Do yourself a favor and buy the new clutch. Even Eaton's (Spicer's) own remans don't hold a candle to the lifespan of a new clutch. In the long run, you'll actually "save" downtime and money. The new clutch in a new truck typically lasts a long time. But when you swing to the path of remans, the clutch life is dramatially shorter. And, there's a noticeable difference in performance (engagement) too. Think about it.