Spicer Turbomatic issues...

Marty3d

Total newbie here. I just bought a 1960 American LaFrance model 900 fire truck with a Continental 749cid gas inline 6 and a Spicer 2-speed turbomatic transmission (model 184). (no, I really don't have any good sense) The truck runs about like it is supposed to - but only in reverse (which is how I drove it home). The transmission is, to my mind anyway, an ingenious novelty. It has an air-disengaged friction clutch in front of a separate torque converter. After the torque converter it has an overrunning clutch and a large splined drum with a shift collar. Low gear is simply driving through the converter. High gear is engaged by a hydraulic clutch pack and engages the drive shaft directly from the friction clutch to the output shaft. The overrunning clutch allows it this to happen and turn faster than the torque converter would have it.

But, it's not working...anybody out there know about these things? I can find very little information anywhere, save for a few older posts on this site.

Dana Spicer Automatic Guy is / was a member here. Hasn't posted for a while but here is imfo from him

He used to be the engineer/part time seviceman on this unit from 1968 until 1975. I can usually troubleshoot. garritorr@yahoo.com

Hope this helps Paul

"OPERTUNITY IS MISSED BY MOST PEOPLE BECAUSE IT IS DRESSED IN OVERALLS AND LOOKS LIKE WORK"  Thomas Edison

“Life’s journey is not to arrive at the grave safely, in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting ‘Holy shit, what a ride!’

P.T.CHESHIRE

Dana Spicer Automatic Guy is / was a member here. Hasn't posted for a while but here is imfo from him

He used to be the engineer/part time seviceman on this unit from 1968 until 1975. I can usually troubleshoot. garritorr@yahoo.com

Hope this helps Paul

I found this forum via a search which included his post. I have e-mailed him with no response. I hope that he is well and can respond.