Eaton Two Speed Problems

i have a Mack MB 400 1974 single axel with 4 gears and what I think is just basically an Eaton two speed on the rear axel. While driving, the two speed gave out but the rest of the four gears continued working. the electrical pull switch in the cab started smoking and both it and the rear axel started smelling like sulpher. And most of the electrical components on the panel (the battery charge meter and the temp sensor) went out at the same time. Kind of strange. basically with everybody I've talked to they say I've most likely just burned out the motor on the two speed, and that I can still drive it with the remaining gears but I have to disconnect the electrical input to the motor. Does this sound right? And when I get this thing back into town, how difficult is it to repair, and really how expensive? I've never worked on this part of the truck before, so I feel kind of up in the air. Up until now everything has been working great. Any advise would be appreciated from you all.

Nick