Magnadyne Flat 6

Lucas9214

Hello, I am in the process of rebuilding a Mack model EQSW with a flat head 6 cylinder Magnadyne engine. When I bought it they said it was a 52 but I'm not convinced of that, I believe it is a 49. It had a seized engine so I had to beat the pistons out and cannot find replacements for them. This is my first post and I'm far from a professional mechanic but any help would be appreciated. 

20220210_125854.thumb.jpg.0f2c816751b38eb51479d1c4480a7fb9.jpg20220210_121415.thumb.jpg.625ce985a0207dc074863036974b6299.jpg20220210_121356.thumb.jpg.0e589565427ac8af8244d49a0ef4def7.jpg20220210_121400.thumb.jpg.fa538fba86ee28ae8054ed3e5fa85901.jpg

Edited by Lucas9214

I just realized that the Detroit Pistons basketball team were named as such because they were started by Fred Zollner, who started Zollner Corporation as an OEM piston supplier to just about everyone (including the pistons you have there). If you google Zollner pistons all you get is basketball information.......Sorry I'm no help but somebody will be along here with useful information....

• Like 1

Looking your pics I dont see a reason you need new pistons. Cylinders relining is too probably on the way and suitable compression rings chosen by the size. When you recondition the liners you just bore new ones to get required gap to the existing pistons. There may be another way of ordering new custom made pistons already oversized to rebore the block. If you find yourself lucky finding a NOS set of oversized pistons and rings for them that's the most straight and correct way.

Those flathead Mack engines were of multiple models and of different displacements. Yours is probably EN354 of 354 ci. But this point definitely needs determination since you should start from it in your search.

Vlad

Никогда не бывает слишком много грузовиков! leversole 11.2012

15 hours ago, Vladislav said: