OzarkMack

OzarkMack

I live in south central Missouri and last Fall purchased a B-61 tandem axle Mack dump truck with the quadramatic transmission.  I have no experience with a vehicle like this but, wanted to own an American made truck, that helped build America, before I became too old.  I had  driven it very little this year and decided last week I should begin to familiarize myself with operating the twin gear shifts.  After traveling the highway a few miles a fire developed in the engine compartment.  The fire department, police and a tow truck all arrived on the scene and when the smoke cleared the tow truck operator said the brake air lines had been damaged.  There was no pressure registering on the gauge in the cab.  The tow truck operator used an air line and his truck to refill the reservoir on my truck.  The brakes still would not release.  At this point the police said the truck was a hazard to other drivers and insisted it be removed from the highway.  The tow truck operator said he would have to pull the truck with the brakes engaged.  I put the transmissions in neutral and the tow truck operator hoisted the front axle off the ground.  When he started to tow we noticed the wheels of the back axle were turning.  The operator then decided he would keep the front axle of the tandem from touching the pavement by chaining it to the frame.  This allowed him to tow the truck without "scubbing" the tires.

My question and reason for posting is can someone explain if there is a way to release the brakes when you have no air pressure?  Keep in mind, I'm not a mechanic and probably an explanations should be dumbed down so I can understand it.  Thanks in advance.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...