711 ?

Well guys I bought a B-61S for the cab and it looks like the 711 in it is in much better shape then my old 673. No smoke and it sounds great. I have no experience with 711's. I came into the industry in the mid 60's when my company still had 673's and then transitioned to Maxidynes.

What should I be looking for and what should I expect? The engine is a 1965 and I'm putting it and the quadbox that came with it, in my B-68X . I will have a 10' dump on it and I intend to use it every now and then to grab a load of stone for my driveway and/or help out at the fairgrounds. The 673 that repowered this old gasser is like I said, a smoker and it is noisy- plus its a Duplex so I think 'm ahead with this swap.

1965 was about the time that Mack began using the "fire ring" type head gaskets on the 711. This stopped a lot of the chronic head gasket failures that the 711 was prone to previously.

Look at the head studs. If it has all 5/8 head studs then it is equipped with the fire ring head gaskets.

If it has 3/4 head studs at the corners of the heads and the rest of the head studs are 5/8 then it has the old type head gaskets.

Other than that, not much difference in terms of durability compared to a 673, and the 711 has a little more horsepower & torque.

Yanking out that duplex and replacing it with a quad box is a very smart move.

"If You Can't Shift It Smoothly, You Shouldn't Be Driving It"

I have a 1966 R-600 with the original END711-NA and it runs great.

It does have the later fire ring type head gaskets.

Horsepower and torque are greater than the END673-NA.

Check in with OldMacksRus.com for more info on the

exact numbers.

I think you will like the swap, especially with more gear

possibilities.

Paul Van Scott