steering column broke while on highway

The Tilt adjustable steering column broke today while i was driving on the highway with 20tons of stone. The steering wheel dropped down completely on to my lap. 2009 gu713 with 30,000 miles i have had the truck for 2 years and 1 month. Bought it new. What i cant understand is that i still have warrantee till dec 2012. But when i brought it to the dealer they said that the column is only warranted for 1 year! and the new column was $825 plus the instalation! HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE??????? I never ever adjust the wheel i am an owner operator. No one but me drives the truck and the column just drops and shits the bed going 55mph with 20tons. What would happen if i lost control and killed someone? Then would mack cover it?? EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED WITH MACK!

http://www.bigmacktrucks.com/index.php?/topic/10731-mp8-engines/ This is an article about Pinicle, I'm sure it's probably the same column.........Most all '09 models have all the updates/recall already done (or upgraded in production)before they get out the factory. The only recalls I have seen for a few '09s was the "tilt steering recall" and a couple of different downloads for PTO switch and injector pressures. The regular problems we do see on the 08-09's are driver side fan belt tensioners going bad (not falling off but off tracking), clutch brakes breaking internally, AC/heater blower motors going out(bad design, cowl drains plug up and water pours in on the motor) and a few winshield washer motors and pumps going out. Most newer '09 have the self cleaning (purge valve) 7th injector for the DPF and this really cuts out the manual cleaning of soot off the 7th injector. Most '09s around here are doing very well, good MPG and no low power complaints.