370 hp cam changed to a 460 cam What would you expect to see

fjh

2005 AI We have an  370 hp engine that has had a 460 ac cam installed in it the engine pulls like a Bear! How ever Eats turbos every year or so! We are entertaining installing all the early 2003 manifolds and 5 inch exhaust ! do you guys think this will help  or slow down  the turbo  fail rate  or accelerate the turbo issue!  The turbo is the stock AI turbo shaft modified ! I'm no expert on turbo geometry  Even prior to the cam the engine had lots of failures Blow by into the base via the turbo drain! The customer now has the turbos custom built with a double seal ring  on the shaft that used to be done when the stealth brake was around ! He claims the boost is up over 40 psi !😨 So will it spool more or less with  the old style manifolds  and 5 inch exhaust ! Either way it will be an experiment gone wrong or gone right  or no change if we follow through on it! Would like some ideas here!   Kinda worried were going to mess up a the stew here by adding to much salt!

Edited by fjh

Engine’s breathing, no scavenge bump, but has all the exhaust restrictions holding back? You can only improve that mess. I’d do the 5” + manifold with the turbo OldRedMack, Burrens, and now Ditch Digger is installing on their 370’s. 

I think O.R.M. Said it’s a Borg Warner s467 he got from YTS.

Only pure modification you can do to a stock AI turbo is melting it down and turning it into a different series turbo......IMO. 

Edited by Mack Technician

13 minutes ago, Mack Technician said:

I’d do the 5” with the turbo OldRedMack, Burrens, and now Ditch Digger is installing on their 370’s. 

I think O.R.M. Said it’s a Borg Warner s467 he got from YTS.