Hi Guys, I'm kind of new to this. I've been basically a car guy and vintage auto appraiser. I had been having some interest in old fire trucks and was asked to appraise a 1939 Mack FG Dump truck.

The truck is beautiful and completely restored. I know there were 162 built between 1938 and 1942. I was told they are rare and seldom come to market. I've seen the pictures here of the one with the backhoe on it. I'm told another sold inside of 2 years ago for $300,000.

My problem is I can't find a way to put a value on this other than the restoration costs. Can anyone tell me the value of these trucks any any past sales?

Thank you,

Dave

Once upon a time I had an equally rare FN.  Many years later, an Australian asked me (via the wonders of the internet) if I still had it. I told him that I sold it in the late 1980s. He asked if I could find it and buy it for him. I asked how much. He said "name your price".

Sadly I could not find it, but in terms of value of something like an FG the price you quoted must be close.

Its very hard to put a value on things that rarely trade hands... I think the truck that you are thinking of that sold was the Wellington Fjs that Pat bought a few years ago. An fj is more sought after then a fg and that particular truck had a history to go with it and that’s worth something to. If this is an appraisal for insurance, you are going to have to back up your appraisal with evidence to get an agreed value. The cost of restoration is irrelevant to the insurance companies. If you spend a million dollars restoring a pinto , it still isn’t worth anything. If you tell them it’s worth 300k I think they will have time with that on an agreed value policy. That being said, if your just looking for a value, and it is a 100% correct truck, the truck could be worth into the 200k neighborhood to the right buyer......

• Like 1

Hi Guys,