Old B questions

Hello folks. I'm a newbie here. I was always fond of Mack trucks and work with some when i was young. i've worked around and driven Af's, B 505's, R's, and CF's.

i'd like to get an old mack to maybe restore or to just keep as original as possible and enjoy. with that being said i have some questions:

-were b-42's ever supplied with diesels?

-i friend knows of a b-42T with an older cummins in it with a 2 stick 10 speed direct shift. Could this possibly be original?

-Was it common for b-42s to be repowered? would a diesel be too heavy without suspension work?

-what are B's going for depending on condition?

thanks!

Welcome aboard. Check out the classified section for a pretty good handle on B model pricing. Like everything else price depends on condition, how rare they are, and what you are willing to pay. They go from $500.00 to well north of $50K.

Just keep in mind that the better the condition you start with the less it will cost you in the end. i.e. $30k for a well restored truck is a bargain compared to doing it yourself even though most folks here would consider that to be overpriced.

Money, sex, and fire; everybody thinks everyone else is getting more than they are!