Identifying running gear on '83 MCR Mack

rangitan

Hi folks,

I'm new to Mack trucks and have just picked up an '83 MCR with a Maxidyne 237 hi-torque engine and 5-speed with air shifter on the knob. I'm trying to identify all the model numbers so I can buy the right service manuals and am a bit bewildered by the range of different boxes and engines that came out in these trucks.

The truck has a splitter type airshift on the gear shift knob, effectively giving me 10 foward and 5 reverse ratios, with a neutral position that must be used when engaging the PTO. To engage the PTO, the transmission must be put into gear, typically 2nd or 3rd.

If anyone could give me clues on the following questions, I would be most appreciative:

1) What is the gearbox in my truck and is it specified as a five speed with the airshift splitter as a separate casing or does the whole core/splitter combo have it's own designation as one unit? From what I've been able to gather it must be either a TRL-107/107x or TRDL-1070/107x

2) How can I identify if the engine has 2V or 4V heads?

3) How is this PTO arrangement described in the service manuals?

I have included a couple of pics of the truck and airshifter for reference.

With thanks.

post-10773-0-43087000-1329778505_thumb.jpost-10773-0-51832100-1329778525_thumb.j

The 237 was a 2 valve engine,and it's most likely a 6 speed,Lo split in first gear only,you'd have to check numbers on the case to see which one as there were a few different versions depending on the lo gear ratio.Mack used that knob on several different versions of the old Maxitorque transmissions,6,7,10 and 12 speeds.

if the injectors heads can be seen from the passenger side its a 2V

If you can only see where the fuel lines enter at the side of the heads its a 4V