still fighting the shimmy.

macattack

hey.

ok ive been battling this shimmy problem i have on my mr688s for close to 2 years. starting to drive me nutso. i dont operate it very much once twice per month. here is a brief description of my problem.

at about 35-40 mph i get a shimmy/wobble in my truck. above and below that its fine.

i replaced the following items.

rear bushings

insulator pads all.

tie rod ends

wheel bearings.

king pins

flex bar on front between spring hangers.

replaced and retorqued hanger bolts.

retorqued frame bolts.

balanced my front rears.

all u joints.

few other misc items i cant recall now.

still have the shimmy!!!.

my question is should i have my fronts balanced 425 65r 22.5? i was told if my steering wheel does not shake its not in the front. but the mr688s cabover truck front tires are basically behind the seat. so is it possible the tire shop could be wrong. the fronts are on aluminum rims, i dont see any weights on the front rims at all.

i had my front rears balanced with beads. tire shop told me it may take up to 100 miles before the bead bag breaks and balancing begins. is this correct?

also i noticed that the front timbren type rubbers on the front springs are in contact with the trucks frame without weight. i dont think this is correct. maybe my problem is the previous owner installed oversized rubbers causing the wobble through out the truck.

any ideas what else i should check? sorry for rambling on and on.

power steering pump may be bad. I had the same problem on an R model. It would only get bad if i crossed a set of RR tracks kinda fast.

It ended up being the pump.

Some of the old style power steering pumps had internal filters on them, u may need to check that out. Im not sure how new your truck is or if it is the same style im thinking of.

power steering pump may be bad. I had the same problem on an R model. It would only get bad if i crossed a set of RR tracks kinda fast.

It ended up being the pump.