Shifting A Mack Ch-600

Student1

I am a student in training to get my CDL-A. Right now I,m having a little trouble with down-shifting smoothly. My instructor says to use the sound of the engine and so far I'm doing a fair job but not good enough job to pass the final skills test. I am hoping someone out there might have some idea of what the shift operating RPM or MPH range is for the gears on a 9-speed Mack CH-600. I'm not sure what the year is but I think it is a 1995 model. Thanks

Edited by Student1

I am a student in training to get my CDL-A. Right now I,m having a little trouble with down-shifting smoothly. My instructor says to use the sound of the engine and so far I'm doing a fair job but not good enough job to pass the final skills test. I am hoping someone out there might have some idea of what the shift operating RPM or MPH range is for a Mack CH-600. It is a 9-speed. I'm not sure what the year is but I think it is a 1995 model. Thanks

Every truck is different. If you use the double clutch method, (which always works) you will become accustomed to the sounds of the truck on short order as familiarity is gained. Soon you will not be using the clutch except to start, stop, and the occasional downshift. If is all practice to become perfect. Watch that tach needle as you pull it into, and out of gear. Pretty soon you will know that rpm by sound and feel.

Rob

Dog.jpg.487f03da076af0150d2376dbd16843ed.jpgPlodding along with no job nor practical application for my existence, but still trying to fix what's broke.

RPM range is in the area of 1900-2100 on the hi side. 1200-1300 low side.

Like Rob said, practice, practice. Even now I find myself double clutching alot. Old habit. That is if i use the clutch

Success is only a stones throw away.................................................................for a Palestinian