Transfer Case Troubles

Engine1252

Last year we bought a 1955 B-85 open-cab pumper that had been stored uncovered for over 30 years in an old building. This engine has significant sentimental value for my family. When initially recovered it ran and drove. Our local heavy truck mechanic (also well-versed in fire equipment) has been working on it this year. Electrical issues and other problems were solved. He's been working on the transfer case for some time. It was full of water and bearings. He called tonight with the news that it is shot, and there are no parts. I am not a mechanic, but here is what he told me it would need:

Input/Output Seals,  Output shaft assembly, Driveshaft flange, or an entire Rear Output assembly. Otherwise, this rig is dead in the water.  The pump is a Hale QL-1. He sent me some pictures and I have attached them. 

I'm calling the antique fire truck version of a Mayday here. I appreciate any and all help. I can be reached via text at (717) 433-1551 or on this forum. 

Thanks in advance,

Glenn Dressler

20200717_190629(1) (1).jpg

20200724_194807.jpg

20200724_194810(1).jpg

Is there anything that can be remade at a reputable machine shop?  Flanges, shafts and such should be doable.  If there are no parts available, then I'm sure something could be fabricated.  Cast iron can be welded.  I would not throw in the towel yet.

Edited by Freightrain

IMG-20180116-202556-655.jpg

Larry

1959 B61 Liv'n Large......................

Charter member of the "MACK PACK"

8 minutes ago, Freightrain said:

Is there anything that can be remade at a reputable machine shop?  Flanges, shafts and such should be doable.  If there are no parts available, then I'm sure something could be fabricated.  Cast iron can be welded.  I would not throw in the towel yet.

Probably could but the machinist would need drawings for some of the assembly. And good luck with that. I just put the word out to some guys who would know where to look.