Mack Trivia

Hi I'm a novice here on MACK. What can you guys tell me about this truck Engine Trans rears lockers etc. All the seller could tell me was its a 1974. I think its A DM? Can Any body tell me what common problems (king pins leaks etc) with this MACK model. I wanted something nice to restore and do some PT site work. LOL.

Thanks

post-6774-093478700 1283475540_thumb.jpg

post-6774-095525800 1283475575_thumb.jpg

post-6774-057333600 1283475607_thumb.jpg

Hi I'm a novice here on MACK. What can you guys tell me about this truck Engine Trans rears lockers etc. All the seller could tell me was its a 1974. I think its A DM? Can Any body tell me what common problems (king pins leaks etc) with this MACK model. I wanted something nice to restore and do some PT site work. LOL.

Thanks

Yes it's a DM, probably a 685S. most common engine would be a 237 2 valve and the most common trans would be the six speed with two sticks.

From the pictures you can tell it has the 20k front axle. Can't tell what the rears are, ask him if they are either 5 or 6 spoke. 5 would be 38k and six 44k.

Pretty much a bullet proof truck, great as a site truck. If it has the Mack front axle( which it probably does) the king pins are adjustable.

As far as leaks, the most common are the valve covers.

Yes it's a DM, probably a 685S. most common engine would be a 237 2 valve and the most common trans would be the six speed with two sticks.

From the pictures you can tell it has the 20k front axle. Can't tell what the rears are, ask him if they are either 5 or 6 spoke. 5 would be 38k and six 44k.

Pretty much a bullet proof truck, great as a site truck. If it has the Mack front axle( which it probably does) the king pins are adjustable.

As far as leaks, the most common are the valve covers.

I have seen a lot of older trucks on this site with alum wheels. Do you know whats in volved in swapinping from the steel?