END673 Pump

nasty51ford

Looking for a little info on turning the pump up a little on my "58" Mack, it has the END673 in it, I just want to turn it up a little to get a little more power, but not enough that it will melt a piston, or wash down the cylinders, does anyone know how to go about doing this? I have been a mechanic all my life, but have never worked on one of these, I've only had it for about two weeks, and can it be turned up higher than 2100 RPM ,or is that the highest it will safely turn? It will be used for my own personal use, and will occasionally haul a car, either on the bed, it has an 18-20' tilt bed, or on a 20' car trailer that I have. Thanks Keith

post-6848-0-80340500-1408485586_thumb.jp

Don't raise the rpm.You can add just a little rack to it.Pull the governor cover and you will understand were the rack stop is inside.The rack goes forward for more fuel but is limited by the stop.The is a screw on stop that will alow the stop to be moved forward for more rack travel.one and a half turns of the srew is enough to do damage if you don't know how to drive a hot engine.Just remember pistons and liners may not be found for that engine any more.

• Like 2

glenn akers

give it one and a half turn on the rack screw and thats all you need. If you want more than that screw some more and I can tell you for sure you can get more fuel in that engine than it can handle.Old timers would set them till they could get a small red cone out of the stack and you could not do that long.

• Like 2

glenn akers