Flywheel Removal

Mr. Bill

I am new to Mack and big trucks. I purchased a 1968 R 685T last year and finally got time to work on it now. It needs a clutch so I have pulled the transmission (5 speed) back and removed the pressure plate. I was surprised to see two clutch plates in there. How does that set up work? There is still only one clutch face pressed against the flywheel.

The clutch shop says they need the pressure plate, middle plate, two clutch plates, and the flywheel. My problem now is the flywheel. I am not sure what they want. There are bolts around the outside of the flywheel and also in the middle there are 6 castle nuts. I tried the castle nuts but could not get them loose. Can anyone tell me what I need to remove so they can turn the clutch face?

The six nuts in the center, you might have to heat them a little if there is thread lock on them, be ready when you pull it off, it's a heavy hunk of steel, as for the clutch and pressure plate I would buy a new one get the easy peddle.