Gas To Diesel

Charlie Hatfield

I have bought a mack 237 turbo'd engine out of a "B" to put in my "L" fire truck in place of 707 gas engine. I need to know what problems I will have with any changeover situations. I have never done this before and would like to talk to someone who has. Someone told me to use the water pump out of the "L" to make the fan blade fit. Since it is a fire truck, I am also at a loss as to what kind of oil filter assy to use and also air cleaner. The diesel look like it has bolt-on rear mounts(gone) and on the gas, it is part of flywheel housing. Also the transmission (TR720) I am going to use looks like it needs an adaptor ring to fit the engine.

Also I am curious as to where the vacuum is(for wipers). Once I start changing everything,I want to be able to finish it, with no problems or wrong parts.

sounds like a project on your hands..LOL

if the 237 has a oldstyle luberfinder setup you could simply remove the oil lines and filter assy from the block and get the spin on filter adapter that bolts to the pass side of the engine. then you could use the easy 2 spin on filters

fram what I have heard with people installing 237s in b models is that the 237s pully on the water pump extend farther out than the thrmodynes engines, you may only need to replace the pullys ??? as far as the rear engine mounts its a loss to what would work. hopefully a diffrent bell housing will solve the trans/engine connection. I cant remember if the rear mounts are on the bell housing or trans??? so cant give a suggestion there

let us know what works.

I have some R model frame mounts on a scrap truck in the yard. If you need then i will pull them off for you no charge but shipping

trent

Charlie,