How to Determine Fifth Wheel Position?

My question follows from some of the discussion at http://www.bigmacktrucks.com/index.php?/topic/36019-ontario-1955-b-30-fully-restored-seen-on-kijiji-big-bucks/#entry249042. I am not a professional trucker so my question my seem a little basic to some.

How is the fifth wheel positioning normally determined? I know that load distribution and axle weights become more important as the vehicle axle ratings and/or licensed gross weight is approached. Do drivers do a calculation to determine fifth wheel position to ensure proper load distribution over front and rear tractor axles or do they refer to a chart for their rig or do they follow dimensions set out in a regulation or is it more a rule of thumb sort of thing?

Best regards, Dennis

Fixed or sliding fifth wheel? My guess the sliding would be something you would figure out as you use it. Knowing how much weight each slot equates to on the front axle weight.

A fixed? Not sure how the factory decides where it should be put? I suppose they do some math and put it close to where the front axle would max out with maximum GCVW(gross combined vehicle weight).

My .02 on the subject.

IMG-20180116-202556-655.jpg

Larry

1959 B61 Liv'n Large......................

Charter member of the "MACK PACK"

Fixed or sliding fifth wheel? My guess the sliding would be something you would figure out as you use it. Knowing how much weight each slot equates to on the front axle weight.

A fixed? Not sure how the factory decides where it should be put? I suppose they do some math and put it close to where the front axle would max out with maximum GCVW(gross combined vehicle weight).

My .02 on the subject.