1973 R Model Hub/Wheel Seal

FayettesFinest

My truck is leaking oil all over the wheel. I'm thinking it's a wheel seal, or hub seal if these even have them. I'm guessing it's a relatively simple task, but I'm just getting into working on big trucks, so I just wanted to see what I'm up against. Any feedback would be really appreciated. Thanks!

Being in the process of getting your CDL's is like sitting on death row...

I would just pull the axle out replace gasket and blue glue it real good.....be sure to top off the rearend and you should be good to go, but wait on others to reply also because I could possibly be missing something

This message was brought to you by Hargraves Potted Meat Product. Chopped full of "Peckers & Lips" since 1933 - John Boy & Billy

Check to see that hub is not overfilled, should be on outside ring of sight glass, check hub plug (soft rubber and vent hole not stop-up) if plastic sight hub it does get old and brittle ,subject to hairline cracks, it can be replaced with service kit. If replacing entire hub cap, wouldn't recommend no silicone on gasket, completely clean mating surfaces (no oil residue) and don't overfill.

Awesome! Thanks for the feedback, guys! Now, I don't know if it matters or not, but it's what I think is the old style. The one that's shaped like a huge nut. Regardless, is this a rough job? Doesn't sound like it, but every time I think something is going to be an easy job, it turns into a disaster and a half...

Just curious if you are trying to make a living in this truck or just fooling around the farm? I cant imagine having a 1973 mack and not knowing much about working on them.. at least you will learn alot quick!!