Mack Racing Truck Conversion

I am currently a student in a Diesel Technology program. For the last ten years I worked as a service tech on mailing equipment so the diesel world is new to me.

One of the projects we are looking at is converting a mid-80's Mack..model EM6-350R into a racer to go the 1/4 mile at next years Diesel National's at Englishtown Nj. My current instructor has taken the lead in the project and has presented it to us to see who can come up with some of the best ideas. My issue is I am not sure where to go with this. One idea was to rebuild the current Mack engine. Another idea was to put a Detroit Diesel 60 in. I am just not sure the perfect route to go(plus the school has to deal with a set budget).

So I am looking for help in the form of suggestions, websites or possible ideas that I can present to my instructors so that we can start this project(plus my current instructor is awarding 5 bonus points to the best ideas)

Thanks

Any help would be appreciated and I look forward to visiting this site more often.

Remove pump, have it calibrated on a pump bench to get max cc of fuel. If its a 350 you can get oversized plungers and that will really do the trick. raise the rpm to 2500 any more and you may need stiffer valve springs, Advance the pump timing a few degrees over stock. Make sure you have a pyro gauge. disable the puff limiter. If you can do all that you will have some good power to start with. To the point that you may need a diffrent turbo and injectors.

Trent

Lincoln Tech in South Plainfield Nj. I'm midway through. Just finishing up Diesel Construction. Any advice you have school wise would be awesome. or insight to the industry is cool as well.