79 350 starts and idles fine, but dies when revved

Mtnmblmech

Hello BMT!!-

I am in need of some technical help on a 79 Mack 350. I am a mechanic who mostly works on agricultural equipment and smaller diesel trucks. I was recently somewhat conned into helping my old timer neighbor into putting a 79 350 Mack engine into a 73 Mack Dump truck. Needless to say it was a bitch of a project. Considering I'm just doing this for beer, hunting rights, and use of his machine shop..it nearly made me reconsider our deal. Well the engine is in and hooked up the way it should be. Primed it and bled the injector lines and she fired right up and purred like kitten being petted by a 400lb gorilla. When I try to rev it though, it is sluggish and will die if I keep in the throttle. I can feather it back down to idle and keep it from dying when I do it by hand. I have simplified the fuel system to one filter and even put a high flow electric pump from the tank to push some fuel. I know that this should not be needed as it is a siphon feed fuel system, but the beer told me it couldn't hurt to try. My old buddy says that this engine ran fine in the truck it came out of, but I'm hesitant to believe him as he has so many old trucks, engines, parts sitting around, and is getting pretty damned senile; I could see how he could maybe have mixed this engine up with another. I'm thinking that the pump is out of time, the pump is fubar, or I'm missing something simple. The model no. on the pump is 313GC 5135P4. I have rebuilt some old john deere pumps in the past and have a pretty good understanding of how things work, so is there a chance I could most likely handle rebuilding this pump. He does not have another pump that will work from my research, so that is looking like our next option. He does not want to put much more money into this project either. I love the old fart and I would like to see the smile on his crusty old face when I drive it out of the shop. Any help would be very appreciate