I will be soon adding a 2 line wet kit to my truck for use in a dump and lowboy setup :thumb:

all the older Macks I have driven with wet kits had the pto mounted to the pass side of the 6spd trans and the pump was mounted to the frame rail powered via a drive shaft. I have some used ptos at the yard that need nothing but some seals/orings and a air actuater on the PTO as it was manual before...

any tips from the experts on what I should or shouldent do to make the set up easy and reliable? this is my first time working with a PTO set up so besides working the levers and switchis on the dash this is all new to me B)

Trent

trent, you americans crack me up with your driveshafts,

A Chelsea pto with 60 litre pump will do, mounts on the left side of the gearbox, just clears the air tank, mine has the oil tank in a combination diesel tank on the right hand side, If you can incorporate it on the left hand side it will shorten the suction line to the pto. Get yout favourite alloy welder to weld in 340mm on your alloy round tank, should give plenty of oil. dont forget to put in a return line fitting in 3/4 bsp. Or if you are serious ,a tank mounted return filter.

I mounted the pto and hoist controls in a console behind the gearlever, taking air from the seat adjust to power up the system.

The hyd control valve bolts on on the right diesel tank support so my hoses are quite short.

I dont have any controls on the dash as I didnt want to drill any holes, right behind the gearlever is good as you can see out the mirrors when tripping the taildoor when spreading, The other option is to have the controls beside the seat so you can reach up from the ground if you want to operate it from outside, but beware of the seat suspension fouling the controls.

If you want pictures , sing out.

nigel. :chili: