1971 Dm600 With 13 Speed Roadranger

Olivetroad

I am a farmer in Missouri and I have a 1971 DM600 that I use for a log hauling truck. That is one tough truck! The engine started knocking today and I need to rebuild or get a replacement engine. The plate on the door reads that it is a model DM607S and the serial number is 6712. The truck has a 13 speed Roadranger transmission which looks newer. The build sheet for the truck reads that the engine is a END673E Thermodyne. But the engine has a turbo and my book reads that the END673 was non-turbo. The engine has rebuild plates on the side with depot numbers so I think the truck started out in life as a military truck (the olive green paint helps as well). The plate reads that the engine serial number is 4K4485. There are raised letters on the block which read: 288GB5320A. There is also a plate on the drivers side firewall inside the engine compartment that reads: U-24688. My questions are: What model engine is this so I can find a replacement? Also, is the transmission original? If not, will a replacement engine bolt up to it or did they have to modify things to use that transmission? Does anyone have a good used engine? Thanks in advance for your help! Check out the photo that I included of the Mack hauling some pallet logs - can you find the white cat on top of the load?

post-6658-010543200 1281823592_thumb.jpg