Clueless - Restoration Garage Build Out

Hi!

As I prepare to restore an old Mack (prefer an H model), I wanted to start seeing what equipment / tools I will need to do some of the work myself (tear down, some basic body work (not final paint - but paint prep), mechanicals, wiring, interior, etc.).

Frankly, the cost of the garage build out and the cost to outsource pieces of the work is just a cost equation I am not experienced enough to know.

So, one side of this would be the tools & equipment necessary to really perform the work with decent productivity.

I was looking for opinions on the "critical" garage build items for a restoration project inclusive of tools, equipment, stands, jacks, etc. I realize this could be a longer list so I apologize upfront for being clueless. Frankly, I have never purchased an air powered tool in my life, so I am starting at the "Neanderthal" stage of mechanics knowledge (I might as well admit it upfront incase someone mistakes me for having a clue).

Thanks!

-Rob

p.s. Thanks for all the other help. I have already signed up for ATHS, ATCA, and ordered just about every back issue of magazine I could find related to restoring antique trucks. I also ordered a whole series of books from Amazon about Macks, etc. I plan to get more specific mechanics guides once I get my final model sourced for the starter truck. My few assets are an absolute obsession/focus with new projects, a few bucks I can spare, a wife willing to entertain this project, and hopefully a continued desire to learn something. Beyond that, I am ground zero.

Hi!

As I prepare to restore an old Mack (prefer an H model), I wanted to start seeing what equipment / tools I will need to do some of the work myself (tear down, some basic body work (not final paint - but paint prep), mechanicals, wiring, interior, etc.).

Frankly, the cost of the garage build out and the cost to outsource pieces of the work is just a cost equation I am not experienced enough to know.