Clutch Adjustment Help

thetodd717

Greetings! I am relatively new in all of this and trying to learn everything I can about my truck. I noticed that the clutch pedal has no free play at all and will need adjusting. When I put the truck in gear, the truck sometimes will not move at all or will move very slowly forward. The truck is a 1968 Mack CF600 fire truck. The service manual claims the original clucth was a Dana Spicer AS-1400 series. Looking at the diagram and reading about the adjustments seems easy enough, but what I see in the manual doesnt seem to match what is in the truck. I believe the second department to own the truck replaced the clutch with a ceramic one, but I do not have any paperwork on it. Looking into the bell housing, I cant seem to identify where the adjusting mechanism is. If anyone has any ideas or tips what I should be looking for in there, I would really really appreciate it. I have only had the truck for a few weeks and I really want to get out and drive and enjoy it before I put it in storage. Thanks!

Some where on the clutch face you will find other a lock tab held in by a 3/8th bolt or a winder held in with 2- 3/8 bolts depends on how old the clutch is! You may have to have somone wind the engine over a bit to actualy see the bolt/s in question.

Some where on the clutch face you will find other a lock tab held in by a 3/8th bolt or a winder held in with 2- 3/8 bolts depends on how old the clutch is! You may have to have somone wind the engine over a bit to actualy see the bolt/s in question.

Thanks for the help! Hopefully I can find some time to get out there and play with it now!

Thanks for the help! Hopefully I can find some time to get out there and play with it now!

Don't forget to jam a board against the clutch pedal to keep it depressed while you're trying to adjust. The adjusting ring won't turn unless the clutch is released.