Question Regarding Dump Truck.dump Trailer

mbaocha

Please i need answers to these questions. I'm a little new to heavy duty trucks.

1. What determine how much load a dump truck or a dump trailer can carry? is the just the size of the bucket? is it the engine transmission or the axle weight?

I need some explanation.

2. I need a truck that can haul as much as 40 tons of gravel. so i think that a dump trailer is better since buckets could be large. Is it wise to go for a dump trailer for these reason? what are other parameters to be considered.

I'm not from the states so i'm not bordered about US regulation regarding how much tons to carry. I just desire to know how much tons the trucks can efficiently carry without breaking down.

Please i need ideas.

hello you can use both but the tractor/trailer would be better for long trips tanden/triaxles are capable of carrying 40/50 tons with a big enough bed but they will be slower than a tractor because they will be topheavy and they have to carry all the weight. with the tractor trailer they are not as top heavy because the trailers can be as long as 38 feet and they are faster because the weight is not being carried completely by the truck it is easier to pull the weight than carry it.so you can use a smaller engine to move the same weight faster. we had a tractor with a 300 maxidyne 6speed and it would move the same weight faster than the RD888s with 400 macks and 425 cats could at the trucking co i used to work for. joe

thanks joe for your help. If i get you well, Engine transmission or Speed has nothing to do with how much tons a truck head can pull.

So what does a higher engine transmission translate to? Any advantage of trucks with higher transmission?