Ai 400 2004 Rd Tri-Axle

Hello all,

I am new to this site & in desperate need of some tech. info for a 2004 ai 400 engine. this unit has a chirping sound that comes & goes & #5 injector line is leaking through the fitting in the head.We replaced the line but now leak has returnned so we replaced line again & still leaks. Next step is replace injector #5 but only makes sense to do all injectors to eliminate any chance of cyl. imbalance issues.Unit is RD tri-axle dump with 300+miles on it. From reading this forum I found out that these AI engines were prone to shearing locating pin off of lifter & letting lifter turn in bore causing cam failure. Also I see there is a servcie bullitain for mounting hardware in valve train.

I am a licenced mechanic & also I am ASE certified master truck technician but the problem is I have not worked on Mack since 2001. If anyone can & wishes to shed some light , has an opinion or can help me with some tune up specs.(timming mark location,valve lash settings,JAKEBRAKE lash,torque specs for rack,housing & cover). I am fixing this truck for a friend of mine & it is currently losing $100 an hour sitting & waitning for parts. With any luck I will be able to get it back together Saturday. I will gladly offer my experience & or opinion to any & all who can help out here.

Hello all,