B-61 Pumper Questions

bandofan

Hi,

I'm new to the Mack forum and would like to ask a couple questions from some fire truck experts. I'm building a model of a Mack B-61 pumper and am trying to get it as perfect as possible. My questions are:

What would the rear bed of the pumper be made of? The model that I'm building has lines running from front to back, so it appears that this may have been wood on the original. If so, would this have been varnished, natural color wood? If it wasn't wood, what color would it have been painted (or chromed)?

What would the interior cab color be painted?

What color were the hose reels and the sturctural brackets that supported them?

Thanks for any information that anybody can provide. When I'm done with the model, I'll post a picture on the forum.

Thanks again!

Mark

Hi,

I'm new to the Mack forum and would like to ask a couple questions from some fire truck experts. I'm building a model of a Mack B-61 pumper and am trying to get it as perfect as possible. My questions are:

What would the rear bed of the pumper be made of? The model that I'm building has lines running from front to back, so it appears that this may have been wood on the original. If so, would this have been varnished, natural color wood? If it wasn't wood, what color would it have been painted (or chromed)?

What would the interior cab color be painted?

What color were the hose reels and the sturctural brackets that supported them?

Thanks for any information that anybody can provide. When I'm done with the model, I'll post a picture on the forum.

Thanks again!

Mark

Mark,

All of the beds in the Mack pumpers that I have seen have been made of wood. I am not sure if they were varnished but I know they were not painted, my guess is they would have been done in linseed oil.

If the pumper was made as a fire truck from the assembly line they inside was red, if it was made into a fire truck later most likely it was Mack green.