Typical Regen for you

So I do the emissions work at the farm, and as such I tend to do a lot of forced regens and data logging. This is the best heat I've had all week.

How about you? What do you look for in a regen before deciding to take a closer look? I'm not a mack mechanic, nor do I have any formal training. It's all been learned I  the seat or from whatever I can get my hands on.

Edited by mdixon

Volvo/mack I think uses cummins DPF components so you know one DPF system you know just about all of them. Detroits are a bit different but same basic concept. 

I have a basic understanding of cat's and cummins system but never worked on one. Do mack's use an 8th injector or do they use the engine injectors to inject fuel into the exhaust stroke? 

25 minutes ago, BOBWhite said:

Volvo/mack I think uses cummins DPF components so you know one DPF system you know just about all of them. Detroits are a bit different but same basic concept. 

I have a basic understanding of cat's and cummins system but never worked on one. Do mack's use an 8th injector or do they use the engine injectors to inject fuel into the exhaust stroke? 

Ours have a "denoxtronic" system, whatever that is. Maybe bosch? They use an exhaust mounted HCI to create heta for the regen.

1 hour ago, BOBWhite said:

Yea, they use the After-treatment Hydrocarbon Injector AHI/7th injector. 

Edited by Onyx610
Spelling
  • Like 1

Those gaskets suck on the hot pipe! We just talked about a tool to make to test the system before putting it back together in the one thread you posted pics of the n14. However those should not affect regen temps as egr valve should be closed at regen. 

Edited by Onyx610
Spelling

6 minutes ago, Onyx610 said:

It’s a def supply module. Takes fluid from tank and pressurizes it. 

Do they have an electric Def pump or do they use onboard air to pressurize it like the old systems? And oops I meant 7th injector, I don't know what I was thinking