Oil Filter Cartridges For 707 Gas Engine

slspacek

Does any body know if any company makes a replacement for cartridge oil filter used on the mack 707 gas engine? It use to be a NAPAGold# 1237. But napa has since discontinued that part. Luber Finer has also stopped making the exact replacement. My Luber Finer dealer is ordering me a close replacement to try. He says it is 1/2" smaller in diameter. I am an electrician by trade, so I will ask, Will this make a big difference or cause any problems? The other spec difference is the new filter is 1/4" longer, But I don't believe the filter element came up to the top of the canister So I will give it a try when it comes in and have plenty of rags close by. Thanks for any input. Keep on truckin.

66-c95F

That sounds like a good replacement- the original oil filter is not a full flow- meaning it does not filter all of the oil all of the time- it filters a portion of the oil, and the 1/2" less diameter should not be a problem, and it uses a spring to take up the height difference. Once you have it- see if it fits and let us know what the part number is and we can also try it out.

Firemack

Engine 2 qtrs,

Barry and I looked into this about a year ago, and I have a master oil filter cross reference, I have tried every other filter, Wix 51237, Fleetgard LF539, Purolator P525, Hastings 606, Baldwin C36M, Fram C147, I have not had any luck finding these, anyone else have any ideas? I think the best solution is a close match like 66-C95 is trying , if it works we can then use it.

FireMack

I also looked all over for a filter for my 707 and was unable to come up with one. So this is what I did.

DSC00896.jpg

If you are doing a true original restoration, this probably wouldn't be the way to go, but for me it seemed like the best choice.

Engine 2 qtrs,