Excessive Grinding

Warpman89

I just started driving an 88 R688ST with a 10 speed, the one with a 5 speed box with direct, high, neutral, and reverse for each gear. Often it grinds when I pull it to the next gear. For example, when shifting from 2 high to 3 direct, I shift to direct and pull the lever to neutral and I starts grinding in Neutral. It does the same thing from 4th to 5th. Is this common, or am I doing something wrong. Don't get me wrong, I've driven several eaton fullers with gear splitters, so I understand the concept. I'd like to know if there are any tricks to the trade. Give me a break and don't laugh, I'm a newbie!

I just started driving an 88 R688ST with a 10 speed, the one with a 5 speed box with direct, high, neutral, and reverse for each gear. Often it grinds when I pull it to the next gear. For example, when shifting from 2 high to 3 direct, I shift to direct and pull the lever to neutral and I starts grinding in Neutral. It does the same thing from 4th to 5th. Is this common, or am I doing something wrong. Don't get me wrong, I've driven several eaton fullers with gear splitters, so I understand the concept. I'd like to know if there are any tricks to the trade. Give me a break and don't laugh, I'm a newbie!

I think you have a 6 speed trans not a 10 speed and you dont split each mainj gear. Try to start out in low and 1st gear and go up to direct and 1st gear and up to direct and 2nd gear and direct and 3rd gear and up to direct and 4th gear and direct 5th gear. glen

glenn akers

I think you have a 6 speed trans not a 10 speed and you dont split each mainj gear. Try to start out in low and 1st gear and go up to direct and 1st gear and up to direct and 2nd gear and direct and 3rd gear and up to direct and 4th gear and direct 5th gear. glen