I'm back and need new chambers.

ThaddeusW

Hey all

You could say I have been on hiatus from the forum. Between work, moving and then moving again I was stretched for cash, working on the B just wasn't an option. Time is another enemy of mine but things have smoothed out a bit for the past few months. I am doing better and even though its fall I want to get a few things fixed before it gets too cold.

My problem is I think I have a blown diaphragm in the spring side of the drivers side drive axle chamber. It leaks air from the hole on the back of the chamber and from the clamp around the chamber. I can barely move the truck before the knob pops out when it drops below 60 PSI.

I have never done this before and I want to know if there are any gotchas or precautions I should look out for. I also have no idea what size to get either. I am also thinking to buy two new complete chambers as they are very rusty and I think its time for a fresh set. Any particular brands to buy? I see that some say long stroke and some have long rods. Should I replace the slack adjusters as well?

What to do what to do....

Thanks!

-Thad

What America needs is less bull and more Bulldog!

Welcome back!

not knowing what type brake chambers you have, but, 30-30 chambers are about $40

Much safer to just replace chamber instead of trying to repair can. BIG spring inside

Success is only a stones throw away.................................................................for a Palestinian

Welcome back!

not knowing what type brake chambers you have, but, 30-30 chambers are about $40

Much safer to just replace chamber instead of trying to repair can. BIG spring inside

Yup. They're cheap enough. Do the whole thing instead of having that spring pop out and taking your head off. If the slack adjusters look like they are in good shape and dont have any slop just take em off, clean em up real good and grease em and you should be ok.

TWO STROKES ARE FOR GARDEN TOOLS