B61T upgrade to Springbrakes

Good Morning All,

I am currently convalescing from a service connected surgery and since I have a little bit of time on my hands and my wife’s laptop I was hoping to research what is required to change over the brake pods. Develop a list of parts and a straight forward thread that documents the process for the future.

I am no expert on Mack B61s brake systems but I am an ASE certified Medium/ Heavy Truck. Years ago hearing about converting a single air system over to springbrakes without adding a secondary system.

If anyone has done a similar upgrade or familiar with the process I would appreciate comments, pictures, parts used.

Thanks

Robert

"I reject your reality and substitute my own."

Good Mornin,

I know that most of us on the B Models use the 24/24 cans on rear axle, if this is your setup. Also if you research in this section on BRAKES, go back to 11/23/2009 and you will find the subject for a 61 B-75 Air Brake Schematics. Hope this helps.

Regards

mike

Basically you need a PP1 series air valve for the dashboard, a TP3 series tractor protection valve for the rear of the cab the air hoses attach to, and E3 series foot valve for applying service brakes, and a R12 valve to actuate the spring brakes. The Bendix website or has been mentioned here is a great asset. Your choice with either 24/24, 24/30, or 30/30 spring brake chambers but 30/30 are most common and least expensive.

Rob

Dog.jpg.487f03da076af0150d2376dbd16843ed.jpgPlodding along with no job nor practical application for my existence, but still trying to fix what's broke.