Front axle with disk brakes

DM800

Hi 

I have just acquired a 79 DM800

it is in need of finishing the resto was started over 10 years ago. the truck was from Michigan originally and has a ntc 400. I know it has 44k rears but the front axle is interesting, it has disk brakes! Air over hydrolic. I have been told that those systems were prone to failure and didn't work well. Maybe the reason it it disconnected. I want to install a conventional axle with air brakes I am assuming it is a heavier axle 20k? The numbers on the axle : 

IQHA251P 

FAW616D

i would like to know if it is a 20k axle. Thanks

steve

The axle with the brakes of the style you describes is fitted in my DMM Mack. And it's a standart factory equipment.

Discs with hydraulic calipers. And damn air/juice mixed setup on the left framerail to activate it.

I have no knowledge of how it actually works though. The truck is not running.

Никогда не бывает слишком много грузовиков! leversole 11.2012

5 hours ago, Vladislav said:

The axle with the brakes of the style you describes is fitted in my DMM Mack. And it's a standart factory equipment.

Discs with hydraulic calipers. And damn air/juice mixed setup on the left framerail to activate it.

I have no knowledge of how it actually works though. The truck is not running.

Explaination of operation from my DM disk brake supplement (it's a pdf type file I can't transfer here)