Need Some Advice '88 Mack Midliner

Hi Guys,

Thanx in advance for your help. I am a mustang magazine writer and a road racer. I have an opportunity to buy a 1988 Mack Midliner single race car hauler. The truck has a toterhome conversion started in the first 10 ft of the box. The truck has 200k miles on it.

I am a car guy and know next to nothing about commercial trucks in general and Mack's in particular. I was hoping to get some advise from the experts. This truck is described as follows:"1988 32' Mack Mid Liner 200,019 miles. DIY Toter Home. I have had the truck for four years and just do not have time to complete it. I have installed a roof mount AC and insulated the walls. Comes with ramps, nice RV style windows. Tires, brakes, fluids, filters all with less than 1,000 miles. Great reliable economical truck. License under 25,000#. No special license".

I my race track travel is at least monthly and is an average of 6 hours in drive time one way.

Here are my questions.

Is a truck of this type and this age able to be a reliable vehicle for my needs?

what are the major expenses that I need to prepare for with one of these trucks?

Thanx for your help.

PonderRacing001.jpg

PonderRacing002.jpg

Midliners are reliable if they are maintained and taken care of. With that said, parts are not considered scarce, but are not stocked at many dealers making them harder to come by. We can help you with parts when needed...That is a nice looking truck! I'd jump on it if the price is right!

• Like 1

bmodel_logo.png
Barry - Watt's Truck Center Parts Manager and BMT Webmaster...1-888-304-MACK