Differential Weight

jeffl1107

Hey guys,

Well I finally found out what my vibration noise is. You guys should love this. I have been driving around with the inner rear engaged for over 2 months. Guess I must now pay the price for being stupid. The guy I bought truck from told me that the air switch on the dash is suppose to be in the forward position, towards the windshield for the disengaged position. Wrong! I never second guessed him. So I have been driving around with it in. So it was disengaged and the vibration got considerably worse, especially when I was decelerating in gear to slow truck down. But a mechanic friend told me to go slow, but engage the rear and see what happens. When I did, the noise went away. So, obviously, I have damaged something in that rear. But my main question is to save money, I want to pull it and re-install after rebuilt myself with a mechanic friend. So I am wondering if anyone knows how much that inner differential weighs. It is air activated. I believe it is 46,000lb. camel back rear.

Did not explain fully I guess. I want to pull myself with a 2 ton engine hoist. The place locally said the inner differential weighs 400lbs. but my mechanic friend seems to think it should weigh more than that.

400 lbs. does seem a bit light, but you will be OK with a 2 ton hoist. Done it myself 12 years ago I don't think they have gotten any heavier.

Gregg

2 ton hoist will work fine, dont forget the 2 bolts inside the side cover :thumb: Are there metal shavings on the magnetic plugs? Before you pull it all apart I would check for shavings, loose yokes in the jack and main shafts, bad U-joints etc. How many miles did you put on it with the power divider locked?