4X4 Or 6X6 Conversion Questions

Good evening,

I am a newbie to this board and I have a question that I would guess is not NEW to the veterans, but may definitely be considered 'hair-brained' and NOT trivial.

I have always had a fondness toward the B model Macks.

As of late, I have wondered what it would take to transplant some 4x4 (6x6) hardware underneath a Mack truck.

My thought was to take some deuce and a half running gear (transfer case and front and rear Rockwells) and sling them under a Mack truck. In my mind I would want to do this to a NON tandem rear Mack truck.

At first blush I would think that it would work. I understand that the load rating would likely change, but I would not be doing it for on-road hauling capability. It would be more for a functional heavy duty off-road rig (not rock-crawling, just off-highway use) with some classic antique styling.

The brakes on Rockwells are air over hydraulic (so are Mack's correct?)

The transfer case from a deuce and a half is air shifted (not a problem for a Mack).

My guess on a suspension would just be a heavy duty leaf-spring concoction with maybe some airbags on the back for 'helpers'.

I would also like to transfer the PTO winch from a deuce over to the Mack. But my problem here is that I don't know what types of PTO's were avialable on the Mack transmissions. The deuce and a half PTO winch runs off the Spicer transmission but I like the novelty/fun of the duplex/triplex/quadplex transmissions, so I would like to run the winch off of a PTO that mounts to those transmissions specifically.

Like I said before, I understand this is by no means trivial and would require a rather significant amount of work, but I just thought it would be one heckuva neat welding rig/recovery vehicle.

Regards,

Chris