Question About Six Volt System

:SMOKIE-LFT: Hi all;

I have a couple of electrical questions about my '45 EH. I posted these in General Discussion,but thought the electrical wizards might not have been there for a while.

My plan is to stick with my six volt system,running two big six volt batteries,but I'm wondering if I could use an SP switch to bring 12 volts to run an electric winch occasionally. As I understand them,the SP switch only provides double voltage for the starter in the "Start" position of the ingition switch;am I right? Well,first,is an SP switch voltage sensitive?Do I have to get one specifically for six to twelve,or would a 12 to 24 volt one work?

I'm not that good with electrics,so I'm asking-is there a way to have my six volt generator charge 2 six volt batteries and combine them "downstream" to run my truck on 12 volts?

I considered changing over to a GM internally regulated alternator,but decided I'd probably never find a pulley compatible with the inch wide V-belt,and besides-if it works right,no need to change it,right? So if there's no way to pull 12 volts for a CB,the winch,and some road lights,I'll figure out another way to go. The CB is no problem,but I think the rest of it will draw too much current to use a power inverter on. If push comes to shove,I really don't need any of that stuff, I can figure out other options.

I know this stuff isn't too big a priority for you guys,but I'm trying to get things figured out while I'm home,so when I go to Reno to start working on the :mack1: I'll have my ideas,info and parts ready to go,so as to not waste time down there doing research and working out details to get things to work right.

Thanks for keeping up on my progress(?) and cheering me on. :thumb:

Speed

:SMOKIE-RT:

"Remember-ANY Gun Control is Unconstitutional!"
<!--sizeo:3--><span style="font-size:12pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo--><i><b>MACK-E Model Registry # 36</b></i><!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec-->