E7 300 Valve Lash Help

funkyfullwidth

Hey, first post. My names rob. I've been an auto mechanic for a few years now but don't have too much experience workin on diesels, let alone bigger trucks. I've run into an issue setting valve lash on a 92 mack cab over with the e7300. I don't have alot of know how on mechanic lash adjusters and how to set them properly. The vibration dampener has timing marks as well as cylinder markings on it. I've been turning the motor til it ligns up with the marks, then setting the intake valve for that cylinder, then moving it to the next one and setting that and so on and so forth in firing order sequence. But it seems like on the next go around for the exhaust valves sometimes their too tight, sometimes they open up quite a bit. I'm just not sure what i'm doing wrong. If anyone could walk me through setting valve lash i'd be much appreciative. Also, how can you tell if a motor has dynatard. I don't see a sylenoid attached to the rocker arm rail, or anything else for that matter. Thanks in advance

Rob...