Limited slip differential

I am buying a 1995 DM6 original dump truck .

Did it come with limited slip differential as a standard factory option or was it optional? It has a 7 speed maxi torque.

I really liked the truck but not having some type of traction control makes me think about it since I will be driving it in Florida where it can get sticky pretty fast when it rains.

I appreciate any feedback from experienced Mack owners since I'm new to the truck world and want to make the right decision.

Thank you.

afef106eb3a10e02cabf3b5f3207e927.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We're not talking about limited slip dif here and personally i never heard about this in the heavy duty world.

Limited slip dif is a pretty high technology used in the automotive word.

On heavy duty trucks we use axle lock, nown as inter-axle or power divider wich will lock your axles together,and wheel locks or dif locks wich will lock your weels on the same axle together.

If that truck has Mack axles wich I think it does you might have an automatic power divider although I'm not sure.

I now that Mack has a patented automatic power divider now but I'm not sure if they had this in '95.

This will eliminate the switch on the dashboard for the PDL ( power divider lock ) wich means that when one of your weels starts to loose traction the PDL will automatically lock the axles together and you'll have traction on at least one wheel per axle. It can be both wheels on the same side or on a x patern.

I was told by a Mack salesman not to long ago that Mack didn't have wheel locks on their axles until 2-3 years ago wich rock my world to be onest so you might not have that.

Traction control is not something that you'll have on that truck because It goes hand in hand with the ABS wich wasn't standard on trucks until late '90.

• Like 1

Inter-axle or power divider (PDL) are the same thing, it depends how you want to call it.

That's what I said about Mack having the automatic PDL.